44° Pueblo, CO
SOCO Student Media from Colorado State University Pueblo

The Today

What's New?
  • SOCO Student Media, the new home of The Today, Rev 89, and Digital Sandbox!
  • 35 films over three days! Mountainfilm on Tour is coming to CSU Pueblo April 18-20. Get your FREE tickets now (donations accepted)!
SOCO Student Media from Colorado State University Pueblo

The Today

SOCO Student Media from Colorado State University Pueblo

The Today

SOCO Student Media from Colorado State University Pueblo

The Today

Student elections sees Project-A-New Party win more seats

By Chelsea Reese

[email protected]

CSU-Pueblo students will soon be represented by a government mainly comprised of Project-A-New members. Eleven of 16 seats will belong to the party after they begin duty May 1.

The last day for students to cast their votes was April 6. The results of the 2011 elections were available on the ASG website the next day.

Isaiah McGregory, a student majoring in mass communications, will be the Associated Students’ Government’s president and Rafeal Elliott, a student majoring in biology, will be vice president, according to the ASG website. McGregory and Elliott are part of the Project-A-New Party.

Photo courtesy of the CSU-Pueblo ASG website.

Some of their platforms are to help students have a positive feeling of security on campus and to be more involved with campus activities, as well as gain school spirit, according to the ASG website. They will also aim to organize university records, have better advertising on campus, gain better internet access and become eco-friendly and sustainable.

“Project-A-New plans to rock CSU-Pueblo with new thoughts, visions, and actions, to take steps in insuring that the university becomes the real ‘college experience,’” according to the party’s Facebook page.

There is also has room for eight senators, two for each of the individual schools on campus—College of Education, Engineering and Professional Studies, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, College of Science and Mathematics and the Hasan School of Business.

Five student senators, Janessa Beatty, Andrea Chobot, William Greene, Lindsay Harder and Charles Jensen, will represent Project-A-New and one student, Charlie Rodosevich, will represent the LIVEGREEN party. Another seat will belong to Taylor Branch, who is unaffiliated and one seat remains vacant, according to the ASG website.

All candidates, except for Greene, were not on the actual ballot, but were write-in candidates and voted for by name by students who participated in this year’s election.

Four senator at large positions will be occupied by Simfoni Crowley, Adrienn Halland, Samantha Pitchford and Bennett Trahan, who will represent Project-A-New. Two senator at large positions belong to LIVEGREEN, represented by Lynnea Phillips and Michael Rose, according to the website.

LIVEGREEN is an acronym for legit, innovative, vigorous, energetic, generous, reliable, educated, environmental and nonstop.  The party’s dissimilar platforms are to bring back Stig Jantz, academic advisor for HSB, create a comprehensive recycling program, get better parking, bi-weekly pay for on-campus jobs and better academic advisors, and renovate sports facilities.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Today

Your donation will support the student journalists of Colorado State University Pueblo. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Today

Comments (0)

All The Today Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *